Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
The Law Offices of Salazar & Kelly Law Group, P.A. Motto
  • Call for a free initial consultation
  • ~
  • Hablamos Español

Kissimmee Assault & Battery Attorney

A simple altercation can have far-reaching consequences

All too often, people exchange heated words and tempers get out of control. But a temporary outburst can have permanent consequences if you are found guilty of assault or battery. If you have been charged with assault or battery, an experienced Florida criminal defense attorney can help.

The Kissimmee assault & battery attorneys of Salazar & Kelly Law Group, P.A. have handled hundreds of criminal cases in Florida state courts. If you are facing charges related to assault or battery, we can provide valuable assistance.

Words can be considered assault

A criminal assault is an intentional, unlawful threat by word or act to do violence to another coupled with an apparent ability to do so, along with performing an act that creates a well-founded fear in another person that such violence is imminent. Also called simple assault, it is a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable by:

  • Up to a $500 fine
  • Jail for 60 days
  • Up to six months of probation

If a deadly weapon is used in the commission of the assault without the intent to kill or in the commission of a felony act, it is considered aggravated assault. This is a felony of the third degree, punishable by up to a $5,000 fine and five years in prison and/or probation.

Depending upon the evidence collected against you, assault charges may be associated with other types of criminal offenses, including the following:

  • Stalking
  • Violation of a protective restraining order
  • Assault or battery of an individual 65 years of age or older
  • Assault of a minor
  • Lewd and lascivious acts
  • Burglary, theft or robbery

In addition to related misdemeanor or felony crimes, you may also be charged with sexual assault and simple assault.

Battery occurs when you touch another person

According to the Florida Statutes, a battery occurs when one person “actually and intentionally touches or strikes another person against the will of the other, or intentionally cases bodily harm to another person.” In Florida, a first offense for battery is typically charged as a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and 12 months’ jail time and/or probation. This means you can be charged with battery for minimal physical contact.

Aggravated battery occurs if in the course of committing battery a person:

  • Intentionally or knowingly causes great bodily harm, permanent disability or permanent disfigurement
  • Uses a deadly weapon in the commission of the battery crime
  • Knew or should have known that the victim was pregnant

Aggravated battery is a felony of the second degree, punishable by up to a $10,000 fine and 15 years in prison and/or probation.

Speak with us if you have been charged with assault or battery in Florida

Assault and battery are serious crimes, and they are prosecuted aggressively. Salazar & Kelly Law Group, P.A. is familiar with the approach that prosecutors take, and we use our experience to the advantage of our clients. For a free initial consultation at our main office in Kissimmee, and our branch offices in Orlando and Altamonte Springs call us at 407-483-0500 or contact us online.

Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation