Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
The Law Offices of Salazar & Kelly Law Group, P.A. Motto
  • Call for a free initial consultation
  • ~
  • Hablamos Español

SUV Involved in Fatal Hit and Run in Osceola County Found


On June 1, Amelia Nucum, 62, was struck by a vehicle while crossing West Irlo Bronson Memorial Highway around 9:30 at night. She and her boyfriend were walking back to their motel from Target. Her boyfriend described hearing a loud sound and then turning around to see Nucum on the ground of the motel parking lot. Other witnesses reported that Nucum was struck by a newer white Nissan SUV, which fled the scene. Nucum was pronounced dead at the scene by first responders.

The owner of the white 2012 Nissan Murano, a resident of Kissimmee, contacted the police later that day to report that his vehicle has been involved in a collision. The police confirmed that parts of the vehicle left at the scene match this individual’s vehicle. However, it is still unknown who was driving the SUV at the time of the accident.

Florida Hit and Run Law

It is illegal in Florida to leave the scene of an accident. Under Florida statute 316.061, when an individual is involved in a collision that causes property damage, he or she must immediately stop the vehicle, or as close as is safe and out of the way of traffic. That person must exchange information with the other driver or property owner, show his or her driver’s license when necessary, and cooperate with the police.

If the accident leads to bodily injury or death, the legal requirements are similar, pursuant to statute 316.027. Any driver involved must stop, provide their information and driver’s license, and cooperate with the police and paramedics. He or she must provide reasonable assistance whenever possible, which includes calling 911 to ask for medical responders. A driver is also required to report this crash to the nearest law enforcement agency.

Criminal Penalties for Hit and Run Accidents

Hit and run accidents can lead to criminal charges, such as:

  • For a crash that caused property damage: Second degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.

  • For a crash that caused bodily injury: A second or third degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison, a $5,000 fine, and a 3-year license revocation.

  • For a crash that caused one or more fatalities: A first degree felony, punishable by 4 to 30 years in prison, a $10,000 fine, and a 3-year license revocation.

Civil Consequences for Hit and Run Accidents

If any individual is found to have fled the scene of an accident that caused bodily injury or death, then that driver may be liable through a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit. The injured individual has a right to seek compensation for medical expenses, lost wages, pain and suffering and more from the at-fault driver. People who lost a family member in the hit and run accident may pursue compensation for the medical expenses, funeral costs, loss of companionship, and more.

Contact the Kissimmee Attorneys of Salazar & Kelly Law Group, P.A. Today

Whether you have been charged with a hit and run or have been the victim of a driver who fled the scene, the Kissimmee criminal defense attorneys of Salazar & Kelly Law Group, P.A. are here to help. We have years of experience representing individuals in personal injury, wrongful death, and criminal cases. Call us today at 407-483-0500 to learn about what we can do for you.


Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation