Florida Drunk Driving Tragedy
0.244 percent: that was a driver’s blood alcohol level late one January 2021 evening as he careened into a 45-year-old pedestrian at over 110 miles per hour. The driver commented that first responders should “chill,” because he was only intoxicated. A few yards away, the victim lay dead. Four children would never see their father again. If you have experienced injury or loss at the hands of a drunk driver, an aggressive local personal injury/wrongful death attorney can help you moving forward.
Impact of Alcohol on the Body
The driver didn’t need to tell officers that he’d had too much to drink; his blood test demonstrated that he had more than three times the legal limit of alcohol in his system. When individuals have high blood alcohol levels, they may experience a number of distressing symptoms, including:
- Poor decision making;
- Sluggish reactions and reflexes;
- Garbled speech;
- Problems with memory;
- Limited coordination;
- Changes to blood pressure, breathing, and heartbeat;
- Nausea and/or vomiting;
- Blacking out.
At 0.20-0.29 percent BAC, the level the aforementioned driver was experiencing, individuals typically suffer severe confusion, impaired judgment, disorientation and lethargy. They likely require assistance to stand and/or walk (let alone drive).
Clearly, getting behind the wheel of a motor vehicle in these circumstances is dangerous to drivers and anyone in their vicinity. They will struggle with balance, orientation, and basic motor function.
How Much Liquor Gets You Drunk?
There are several factors that combine to impact a person’s BAC, including weight, height, age, gender, sleep deprivation, body fat levels, and stomach contents. A rule of thumb, though, is to consider a person who weighs 100 pounds above the legal driving level in Florida (0.08) after just a couple of drinks, although someone weighing 300 pounds may not feel any signs of drunkenness at that point. It’s important to understand that judgment is impaired with a BAC as low as 0.02.
If a drunk driver causes minor personal injuries or property damage, they could face a year behind bars and a fine of $1,000. In the event the impaired driver has had previous convictions within the past 10 years, or serious injuries result from the accident, they could be charged with a felony in the third degree, and face five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.
If someone dies in the accident, the perpetrator may be charged with a second-degree felony and could be sentenced to 15 years imprisonment and a $10,000 fine. Leaving the scene could add an additional 15 years to the sentence.
Moving Forward After Loss
Fines and imprisonment may serve as painful instructions to a drunk driver, but it won’t do much to heal injuries or bring back lost loved ones. At the Salazar & Kelly Law Group, P.A., our experienced Kissimmee car accident attorneys understand that, and our hearts go out to you. In addition to that, we can fight to obtain damages to assist with medical costs, lost wages, and more. Contact us today for a confidential consultation.