Understanding Florida’s Knife Laws
You know there are gun laws that control which firearms you can own, how you can carry them, and where you can take them with open and concealed carry. However, did you know Florida’s law against concealed weapons can apply to your knives? There are some circumstances in which you could be charged with a crime if you are carrying a large or certain type of knife.
Florida’s Concealed Carry Law
Under Florida Statute 790.01, anyone who carries a concealed weapon without a license on his or her person commits a first degree misdemeanor. A concealed weapon is carried on a person’s body in such a way as to be hidden from sight from other people and includes:
- Dirk, which is a type of short dagger,
- Metallic knuckles,
- Billie, which is any type of club,
- Tear gas gun,
- Chemical weapon, or
- Any other deadly weapon, including knives.
A first degree misdemeanor is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a $10,000 fine.
What Knives Are Legal to Own?
Almost all knives are legal to own, even knives that are large or disguised as other items. This includes:
- Pocket knife;
- Multi-tool with a knife;
- Balisong or “butterfly” knives;
- Belt knives;
- Cane knives;
- Bowie knifes;
- Throwing stars; and
- Throwing knives.
Illegal Knives in Florida
The only type of knife that Florida regulates the sale and ownership of is ballistic knives. This is a type of knife that has a detachable blade that can be shot a significant distance when a trigger, lever, or switch is activated. It is different from a pocket or flip knives because the blade can become completely unattached from the hilt or base. Under Florida law, it is illegal to manufacture, display, sell, own, or possess any ballistic or self-propelled knife. Any person found with a ballistic knife will be charged with a first degree misdemeanor.
Lawfully Carrying Knifes
While almost all knives are legal to own and carry in the open, they cannot all be carried as a concealed weapon. Knives for work like box cutters and multi-tools can be carried in your pocket or clothing. Generally, if the knife has a blade shorter than 4 inches it will be fine. However, if you conceal carry a knife that is significantly large or qualifies as a dirk, you may be charged with a crime.
Check Your Municipal Code
Some counties in Florida regulate weapons like knifes slightly differently from state law. If you are not sure of your rights, check your local municipal code.
Contact a Kissimmee Criminal Defense Attorney For Help
If you have been arrested and charged with carrying a concealed weapon due to a knife, contact the skilled criminal defense attorneys of Salazar & Kelly Law Group, P.A. at 407-483-0500. We understand that Florida’s law regarding knives can be vague and confusing. We will help you face these charges in court and prove your innocence.